Sundays?!

Do any of my mom friends have a handle on Sundays? If i’m being honest, I have really been failing at Sunday mornings.
To preface, Caleb works most Sundays & I’m getting ready and going solo with Locke. It’s. a. struggle. I occasionally have to go to work after church also. Its such a long day & i am worried ill be too tired if i do church AND work (i don’t get off work until 1130pm).
Im typically running late & scrambling to get us dressed & out the door. Half the time i get there and end up in the nursery with a crying baby & i don’t get to hear the sermon anyways. Anyone else? haha
I’ve started feeling really convicted about my excuses & I’ve had to remind myself of a few things.
First of all: Church is NOT negotiable. Locke needs to see me going regardless of if Caleb is able to join us. Because that’s life & the jobs that God has called us to require us to work the occasional Sunday. Locke needs to know that church is not one of those things we can take off our plates when we feel overwhelmed.
Second: God promises to give us what we need to honor him. He doesnt ask something from us & then leave us to do it on our own.
He will give me the energy I need to get through my late night shift.
I read a book that talks about approaching our Sundays differently. The author shares how her family starts prepping for Sunday on Friday. She gets her home cleaned on Friday. She cooks their meal on Saturday afternoon. And they start their Sunday celebration on Saturday night with a big family dinner.
I think her idea of Sunday is probably a lot closer to what God intended than what our Sundays have been looking like. Im a little stumped on how to make them as special, especially when Caleb works, but Im going to put more effort into preparing ourselves & our home so that we can better celebrate Sundays.
One thing i know i need to be better at is being more organized on Sunday mornings. I need to have our clothes laid out & probably have more quick breakfast options readily available. If Im rushing & stressing Im already setting myself up to fail & my heart isn’t going to be in anyway prepared to worship.
What are ways that you get ready for Sundays? How do you make your Sundays set apart and special? Do you have any family Sunday traditions? And especially, if there is anyone else with a husband who works crazy hours, how do you do Sundays?!

One thought on “Sundays?!”

  1. I’ve found that the enemy works really hard to keep us from church. That includes fighting with spouse or any number of things (i even forgot my shoes once). Remember we are called to worship no matter how we feel (a sacrifice of praise). We have never gotten our Sundays planned or calm…BUT we usually make it there. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment